Joseph Atubokiki Ajienka is a professor of Petroleum engineering, educational administrator and 7th vice chancellor of University of Port Harcourt, Rivers State, Nigeria. Under his leadership, the University of Port Harcourt was ranked 6th in Africa and 1st in Nigeria in Research Influence by Times Higher Education (THE).

He obtained a Bachelor’s degree in Petroleum engineering from the University of Ibadan and Master’s degree and Doctorate (PhD) degree from the University of Port Harcourt in 1986 and 1990 respectively. He joined the service of University of Port Harcourt in 1982 as a graduate assistant in Department of Petroleum engineering where he was later appointed a professor of Petroleum engineering

Joseph A. Ajienka, is the Emmanuel Egbogah Chair and Professor of Petroleum Engineering, University of Port Harcourt. In 1992, he was a Visiting Lecturer, Department of Fuel and Energy, University of Leeds. He was the pioneer Director of the Institute of Petroleum Studies (2003-20010) and the 7th Vice-Chancellor, University of Port Harcourt (2010-2015). He was Chairman, Committee of Vice-Chancellors (CVC) of Nigerian Universities (AVCNU), 2014-2015. He is currently a member of the Board of the National Universities Commission (NUC) and the Board of National Office of Technology Acquisition and Promotion (NOTAP). He was awarded honorary Degree of the IFP School, Paris (2017).

A registered Engineer, Safety and Environmental Professional, Professor Ajienka is a Fellow, Nigerian Academy of Engineering and Fellow of several professional societies. He is also a Member of the international Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) and member of the Board of Trustees of the Nigeria Council of the SPE, Member of Council of the Nigerian Academy of Engineering, Member of the Boards of the Emmanuel Egbogah Foundation and PetroNet-Africa.
Professor Ajienka has over 200 publications, 4 patents, software applications and won several Awards.